Oregon women win Pac-12 cross country title, men finish fourth

The fourth-ranked Oregon women’s cross country team took home the Pac-12 title with 32 points, upsetting top ranked Colorado by 16 points on Friday at the Pac-12 championships in Palo Alto, California.

Four of the eight Ducks competing for the women’s team finished in the top 10, and seven finished in the top 20.

Jessica Hull, after finishing first-place at the Pre-Nationals invitational in Madison, Wisconsin, two weeks ago, lead the lady Ducks with a second-place finish in 19 minutes, 25.07 seconds in the 6000-meter race, just over a second behind Colorado’s Dani Jones, who took first place in 19:24:43.

The scoring runners behind Hull included senior transfer student from the University of San Francisco Weronika Pyzik, who took in fourth place with a time of 19:53.7, senior Susan Ejore in sixth with 19:48.4, senior Carmela Cardama Baez in eighth with 19:52.6 and junior Isabelle Brauer in 12th with 20:09.2.

On the men’s side, sophomore Cooper Teare was first finisher for the Ducks in a time of 23:11:94 good for sixth-place in the 10,000-meter race. Teare finished just over two seconds behind first place Grant Fisher, a senior from Stanford and the reigning Pac-12 cross country champion from 2017.

The team racked up 93 points, which was good for 4th place in the meet.

Fisher and the Stanford Cardinal took home the title for the second year in a row with 44 points.

Behind Teare was junior Jackson Mestler in 12th place with 23:16.9, freshman Charlie Hunter in 16th with 23:27.2, senior James West in 30th with 23:48.3 and junior Levi Thomet, who finished in 23:49.7 to close off the scoring five for the Ducks.

Next up for the Ducks is the NCAA West Regional Championships in Sacramento, California, on Nov. 9.

Email Bryce Dole at bdole@dailyemerald.com 

The post Oregon women win Pac-12 cross country title, men finish fourth appeared first on Emerald Media.

Read more here: https://www.dailyemerald.com/2018/10/26/oregon-women-win-pac-12-cross-country-title-men-finish-fourth/
Copyright 2019